Getting Out of the Box

Feeling boxed in

As a music fan, do you ever feel pigeon-holed? I find that there are just too many labels that I don’t fit squarely into. Are you a jam band afficionado? A moody shoegazing indie? Maybe you’re a class rock kid, or a metal head, or a new wave newb…or is it noob? Jeez. When shopping in a record store (man, remember those days?) do you cross over sections? Perhaps from jazz to reggae to classical?

Is it really so important that there is definition in music preference? I’d like to think no, there isn’t, but more and more I find myself being shaped, molded, and squeezed into a nice package that the industry can reach. C’mon, it’s easier for the marketing and promotion departments to this way. Group think! Are we really that easy to sell to? That easy to define? Am I THAT transparent?

Maybe it would be easier if I just liked funk. Or listened to the blues all day. And if you think you’re being labeled…think about the bands themselves. Typical interview questions include: “Who do you count among your musical influences?” and “Describe your sound…”…oh, but that’s another discussion…for another day. For now I’ll sit back and be nycjamgal…but I don’t only see music in NYC or only like jammin’ music…or do I?

About nycjamgal

music. writing. videos. photography. archives.

Posted on 04/28/2010, in Rant! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

